Friday, August 21, 2009

World of Warcraft Cataclysm Details

Here are some additional details about World of Warcraft's next expansion, Cataclysm, from this afternoon's Blizzcon panel discussion:

- Worgen will not be able to be Shamman or Paladins and their racial will be something akin to sprint
- The Goblin racial will be called Goblin Belt
- Tauren Paladins, Gnome Priests, Human Hunters, and Worgen Shaman are all confirmed
- The expansion will be released prior to next years Blizzcon ("you will be really angry with these guys by next year's event")
- The Barrens is getting a complete overhaul
- Deathwing will be the expansions major antagonist
- Battlegrounds will finally have an incorporated ranking system
- Guild experience and achievements will be introduced with appreciable rewards
- Talent trees will change, but the mostly will just have more points to play with
- New level cap will be 85
- Underwater mounts
- Cities will be redone
- 7 all new zones
- Flying mounts in Azeroth
- Mana per 5, Defense, Attack Power, and several other stats will stop appearing on gear in favor of rolling those functions into attributes like Intellect, Strength, or Agility
- New Reforging ability added to crafting professions which allows players to alter the stats on an item
- Beefed up Gathering profession bonuses
- Multiple skill point gains for crafting more complicated items
- Revamped Soul Shard system for Warlocks
- Hunters now use focus (slower generating rage) rather than mana
- Haste now speeds Rage, Energy, Focus, and Runic Power gains

Sounds like Cataclysm is shaping up to be very different from Wrath of the Lich King or Burning Crusade.

No comments:

Post a Comment